Adele

The last two articles were about men, so I think it’s high time to write about an amazing, beautiful, and confident woman. She is just 27, but she has been an iconic singer and songwriter since she released her first song. Ladies and gentlemen, meet ADELE.

Everyone in the world knows her name, appearance, songs and lyrics, but only her fans know her full name, where she was born, who she dates and so on. If you are interested, just read on.

Her full name is Adele Laurie Blue Adkins. She was born in North London, England, on May 5th1988. She was the only child of Penny Adkins, who was just 18 at the time of Adele’s birth, and Mark Evans, who left the family when Adele was only 2. He had problems with alcohol. Penny encouraged Adele “to explore, and not to stick with just one thing”. She started singing at the age of four and was obsessed by her voice (as we are).

Later, Adele developed a passion for music. Her true, eye-opening moment came when she was 15 and she came across a collection of Etta James and Ella Fitzgerald records at a local shop. “There was no musical heritage in our family,” Adele said in an interview. “Chart music was all I ever knew. So when I listened to the Etta and the Ella, it sounds so cheesy, but it was like an awakening. I was so inspired that as a 15-year-old I was listening to music that had been made in the ‘40s.”

Adele´s mother enrolled her in the BRIT School for Performing Arts & Technology where she was a classmate of Leona Lewis and Jessie J. While at school she recorded a three-song demo for a class project and gave it to a friend who posted it on ´Myspace´, where it became very successful. When executives at XL Recordings heard the tracks, they contacted the singer and just four months after Adele graduated, they signed her to a record deal.

ALBUMS

“19.” If you are wondering at the name and what it might mean… here’s the answer.
This album was recorded when Adele was 19 years old. 19!!! It is led by two principal songs: “Chasing Pavements” and “Hometown Glory”. “Hometown Glory” is the first song that Adele wrote. She wrote the song in 10 minutes after her mother tried to persuade her to leave her home town of West Norwood in London for university when she was 16.
This album was ranked No. 40 on iTunes and in Less than 24 hours later, it was No. 1

“21.” This album’s title is also inspired by the age of this perfect singer who was 21 during its production. Tapping even deeper into Adele’s passion for classic American R&B and jazz, the record was a monster hit, selling 352,000 copies within its FIRST week. Critics attributed its success to its deeply autobiographical yet universal songs. 21 stayed at No.1 for 11 weeks. “Rolling in the Deep”, “Someone Like You”, and “Set Fire to the Rain”...are the leading songs of 21.

“25” Adele’s third album was released last year in November. She posted 25’s cover on Instagram and said: “My last record was a break-up record, and if I had to label this one, I would call it a make-up record. Making up for lost time. Making up for everything I ever did and never did. 25 is about getting to know who I’ve become without realizing. And I’m sorry it took so long but, you know, life happened.”
This album is worth buying, because of three marvellous songs: “Hello”, “When We Were Young” and “Remedy”. Each of these tells a story. “Remedy” was written about the singer’s best friend, her grandparents, her boyfriend, and her son. Adele was excited and believed she was finally creating music that she liked and also felt confident about.
We all know that this inspiring woman, with a titanic talent deserves all the prizes she has ever won (she’d better have more). All in all she received 88 awards from 168 nominations; her shelf is decorated by a Golden Globe Award, 10 Grammy Awards, and 13 Billboard Music Awards,… .

Adele was criticized by some cold-hearted, empty-headed people for her weight, but gained the support of many others, by stating that she is happy with her weight and would only change it, if it affected her health or sex life ;). “I like looking nice, but I always put comfort over fashion. I don’t find thin girls attractive; be happy and healthy. I’ve never had a problem with the way I look. I’d rather have lunch with my friends than go to a gym.”

As for me, Adele is the most beautiful, fascinating woman. She has changed the music with the power of her voice and a confidence of her image. If I were a boy, I would marry her. Unfortunately for me, this lady is the mother of a handsome boy, Angelo, who will celebrate his 4th birthday this year. Adele is dating Simon Konecki... :)

“HELLO”

Hello, it’s me
I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to meet
To go over everything
They say that time’s supposed to heal ya
But I ain’t done much healing

Hello, can you hear me?
I’m in California dreaming about who we used to be
When we were younger and free
I’ve forgotten how it felt before the world fell at our feet

There’s such a difference between us
And a million miles

Hello from the other side
I must have called a thousand times
To tell you I’m sorry for everything that I’ve done
But when I call you never seem to be home
Hello from the outside
At least I can say that I’ve tried
To tell you I’m sorry for breaking your heart
But it don’t matter. It clearly doesn’t tear you apart anymore

Hello, how are you?
It’s so typical of me to talk about myself. I’m sorry
I hope that you’re well
Did you ever make it out of that town where nothing ever happened?

And it’s no secret that the both of us
Are running out of time

So hello from the other side (other side)
I must have called a thousand times (thousand times)
To tell you I’m sorry for everything that I’ve done
But when I call you never seem to be home
Hello from the outside (outside)
At least I can say that I’ve tried (I’ve tried)
To tell you I’m sorry for breaking your heart
But it don’t matter. It clearly doesn’t tear you apart anymore

[4x:]
(Highs, highs, highs, highs,
Lows, lows, lows, lows)
Anymore

Hello from the other side (other side)
I must have called a thousand times (thousand times)
To tell you I’m sorry for everything that I’ve done
But when I call you never seem to be home
Hello from the outside (outside)
At least I can say that I’ve tried (I’ve tried)
To tell you I’m sorry for breaking your heart
But it don’t matter. It clearly doesn’t tear you apart anymore


by Nina Nôžková

Year 2, Issue 2